Getting started with Easy Plan > Managing data
Check data in and out
The Check In and Check Out feature ensures that only one user can edit data at once within a multi-user environment. When you check out data at an assembly level, the checkout locks the data so other users cannot modify it.
Note
You must have write access to check out data and edit it.
Procedure
If you have not done so already, search for and open an existing work package and navigate to the Process Planning or Work Instructions Authoring page.
If you attempt to load data that is checked out, an indication displays at the top of the screen, and lists the user to whom the data is checked out. You can check out the data after the user checks it in.
Select the assembly or process that you want to check out.
Click Check Out .
A recursive check out is performed. All items within the assembly are checked out, and the data is locked so that other users cannot edit it. Note If any part of the data you want to work with is checked out, a message is displayed and the check out action is canceled.
Author work instructions or perform process planning tasks as needed.
Click Check in .
Results
All items within the assembly are checked in, and the data is unlocked so that other users can access it.
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/282219420/PL20251212545240207.xid2214895/xid1855265 · retrieved 2026-07-11