Authoring manufacturing process plans > Managing collaboration contexts
Manage configuration contexts
You can save a specific configuration to a configuration context. You can apply this configuration to a structure context at a later point. In this way, you can easily change between various configurations to see their effect on a structure.
Tip
You can see the currently active configuration in the Configuration Information dialog box or in the configuration header of the structure view. If the configuration header is not visible, set the MEShowConfigurationHeader preference to true.
Do any of the following:
Create a new configuration context.
With a collaboration context selected, choose File→New→Configuration Context. Select a type of configuration context from the list and click OK. Type a name for the configuration context and, optionally, a description. (Optional) Specify the revision rule to save in the configuration context. (Optional) Specify the closure rule to save in the configuration context. (Optional) Save the state of the Show unconfigured buttons. Click Finish. Teamcenter saves the configuration context object in the Newstuff folder in My Teamcenter. Caution If you create a new configuration context while you have a collaboration context selected, the new collaboration context replaces the existing collaboration context.Save the configuration of an open structure to a configuration context.
Select the structure with the configuration you want to save. You can select a root structure or a structure context. Choose Save as New Configuration Context from the Collaboration Context Tree view menu or choose File→Configuration Context→Save as New Configuration Context. Select a type of configuration context from the list. If you selected a structure context in step 1, select Paste to Structure if you want the new configuration context to replace the one currently belonging to the structure context. Click Next. Type a name for the configuration context and, optionally, a description. Click Finish.Apply a saved configuration to an open structure.
Select a structure context or an open structure. Choose Apply Configuration Context from the Collaboration Context Tree view menu or choose File→Configuration Context→Apply Configuration Context. Note When applying a configuration context that contains the Preference-Driven entry for the Show Unconfigured buttons, Teamcenter respects the settings of the structure to which the configuration context is being applied and does not change the state of the buttons to reflect the MEShowUnconfigured... preferences. Search for a configuration context by clicking Open an object by name . Teamcenter displays the configuration contained in the selected configuration context in the Apply Configuration Context dialog box. These entries are for informational purposes only. You cannot change them. Click OK.Teamcenter applies the new configuration to the open structure.
Restore a configuration to the one saved in the loaded configuration context.
Select the structure context. Choose Restore Configuration from the Collaboration Context Tree view menu or choose File→Configuration Context→Restore Configuration. Teamcenter applies the configuration contained in the existing configuration context to the structure view. Note When applying a configuration context that contains the Preference-Driven entry for the Show Unconfigured buttons, Teamcenter respects the settings of the structure to which the configuration context is being applied and does not change the state of the buttons to reflect the MEShowUnconfigured... preferences.Save an existing configuration.
Select a structure and choose Save Configuration from the Collaboration Context Tree view menu or choose File→Configuration Context→Save Configuration.
If you select
This happens
A structure context that has a configuration context
The configuration context is updated to reflect the current configuration.
A structure context that does not have a configuration context
A dialog box opens where you can choose the name, type, and description for the new configuration context. The new configuration context reflects the current configuration.
A collaboration context
For each structure context under the collaboration context:
If the structure context has a configuration context, the configuration context is updated to reflect the current configuration.
If the structure context does not have a configuration context, a configuration context is not created and a message lists the structure contexts for which a configuration was not saved.
Related Topics
- Saving the state of the Show Unconfigured buttons
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/282219420/PL20251212545240207.mse/id1388274 · retrieved 2026-07-11