ManufacturingKnowledge

Building and editing product structure

Delete multiple assemblies or items

You can delete all items in the product structure below a selected line. This process is called a recursive deletion and may be useful if you want to delete several nested assemblies or items from the structure at the same time.

When you request a recursive deletion, Teamcenter verifies if the items below the selected line can be deleted. You can only delete an item if it meets the following criteria:

  • The item or one of its revisions is referenced by an occurrence of any view of any revision of any other item in the structure.

  • The item and its revisions are not referenced by any other occurrences outside the structure.

  • You have delete permission for the item and all its revisions.

  • Neither the item or any of its revisions is checked out or otherwise locked.

Procedure

  1. Select the line in the product structure below which you want to delete all items and assemblies, then choose Edit→Delete or click the Delete button.Teamcenter displays the Delete dialog box.

  2. Click the Recursive Delete button and Teamcenter displays an Explore Selected Component dialog box. The Recursive Delete button appears only if you select a single item for deletion.

  3. Select any associated objects to delete (for example, datasets) in the Explore dialog box and click OK. Teamcenter displays the dialog box listing items and any associated objects selected for deletion. The list of items includes both items that can be deleted and items that cannot be deleted. If Teamcenter determines that an item cannot be deleted, it displays the reason.If you set suitable types or relations with the Type or Relation buttons, Teamcenter automatically checks all these objects for deletion in the dialog box. Alternatively, you can click the Select All button to select all objects for deletion.

  4. Click Yes in the Delete dialog box to begin deleting all applicable items and the selected associated objects. Teamcenter shows the status of the deletion process in the status bar.You can pause deletion process by clicking the Stop button at any time. You can terminate the deletion process by clicking the Abort button.

  5. When the deletion process is complete, Teamcenter displays an updated Explore dialog box. This contains a flattened list of all the items in the substructure of the originally selected item. Any duplicates are removed and any items that Teamcenter could not remove are indicated.

Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/282219420/PL20251212545240207.plm00043/xid348715 · retrieved 2026-07-11